Ateneo and De La Salle resume rivalry in comeback to UAAP volleyball

On the opening game day of the UAAP Season 84. Women’s tournament at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City today. Reigning champion Ateneo and rival De La Salle lead the return of collegiate volleyball.

In their 4 p.m. encounter, the Lady Eagles and Lady Spikers renew their rivalry. As Ateneo seeks early retribution for a loss suffered in Season 82 before the Covid-19 outbreak halted the sporting world and the rest of the season.

The Katipunan-based team starts their title defense campaign with Dani Ravena, former Juniors Most Valuable Player Faith Nisperos. Also Jaja Maraguinot facing a Taft team led by Jolina Dela Cruz and Thea Gate.

That is also the first meeting between Ateneo head coach Oliver Almadro and De La Salle tactician Ramil de Jesus, who has won numerous titles.

Kat Tolentino, Ponggay Gaston, Jho Maraguinot, and Jules Samonte were among those who left Ateneo. While Aduke Ogunsanya, Tin Tiamzon, and most recently Michelle Cobb were among those who left De La Salle.

Most teams describe their return to the UAAP after a two-year hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic with the word “excitement.” Bettors can also bet in the OKBET sportsbook which is a secure and legal betting site here in the Philippines.

“I hope our preparation was sufficient for this short and rigorous event,” Almadro stated.

“We have to do now is discover a way, make away with what we have. I’m sure La Salle will put up a terrific fight, and we’ll always put up a show.”

The competition would stage in a close-circuit format, according to UAAP executive director Atty. Rebo Saguisag and you can check out the latest update for UAAP in OKBET, with players, coaches, and team personnel is anticipated to be in a “home-training-game” schedule. Learn more.

The league’s men’s basketball competition, which is presently in the semifinals, was held without a single case of Covid-19.

It would be up to the squad to decide whether not to stay in a bubble structure, according to Saguisag.

As neighboring schools, all eight teams will compete. UST and Far Eastern University kick off the quadruple-header at 10 a.m., and National University takes on Adamson at noon. Also the University of the Philippines and University of the East finish at 6 p.m.

Online Sports Betting PH

Online Sports Betting PH